[Skip to page content]
City of Denton logo stacked
X icon

The City Council created a Charter Review Committee to provide recommendations for potential changes to various provisions of the Denton City Charter. The Committee is composed of 21 citizens appointed by the Council. 

The charge of the Committee is to consider and advise the City Council on potential revisions including: 1) creating six single member districts and one at-large mayoral position; 2) changing the current maximum consecutive terms of office from three two-year terms to an appropriate alternative term; 3) amending the district residency requirement; 4) increasing the percentage of signatures necessary to support a recall petition, 5) clarifying the appointment, duties, and responsibilities of the city auditor; 6) expanding the scope of ethics requirements; and 7) establishing a salary or stipend for council members.

The Committee will generally meet on the first and third Wednesdays of each month. Meeting agendas will be posted 72 hours in advance of the meeting.

Committee Membership:
Chair: Joe Mulroy
Members: Dr. Jim Alexander, Dr. Bob Bland, Billy Cheek, Erin Clegg, Kyle Eaton, Sheryl English, Phil Gallivan, Monica Glenn, Herbert Holl, Colette Johnson, Ron Johnson, Dr. Patrice Lyke, Stu Morrhead, Annetta Ramsay, Marty Rivers, Prudence Sanchez, Steve Sullivan, Michael Upshaw, Jorge Urbina, David Zoltner.

Committee Meeting Materials 


Final Report


Contact the Committee