[Skip to page content]
City of Denton logo stacked
X icon
Home > Government > City Officials > City Manager's Office

City Manager's Office

The City Manager is responsible for the implementation of Council policies and priorities. The City Manager’s Office provides leadership and direction to all departments of the City, coordinates the official business of the City Council, submits and administers the annual budget and capital improvement programs, and acts as liaisons among the City Council, citizens, and the City organization.

  • City Manager: Todd Hileman

    Todd Hileman was appointed City Manager of Denton in November 2016. Hileman previously served as Village Manager of Glenview, IL, a north Chicago suburban community with a population of nearly 50,000, since 2004. Hileman has led a transformation of business practices in Glenview to emphasize efficiency, customer service, and innovation. In previous assignments, he served as City Manager and Assistant City Manager of Avondale, AZ, from 2000 to 2004 and as City Administrator for the cities of Delavan, WI and Vandalia, MO. His local government experience spans 24 years.

     
    Hileman holds a Bachelor of Science degree Magna Cum Laude from Arizona State University and a Master of Public Administration from Northern Illinois University. He received the City Manager of the Year award from the Illinois Assistant Municipal Management Association (IAMMA), and the Village of Glenview received the Community Partnership Award from the International City/County Management Association (ICMA). He regularly speaks on change management and alternative service delivery in local government to ICMA, IAMMA, and other audiences.

  • Deputy City Manager: Mario Canizares


    Mario Canizares joined the City of Denton in May 2017 as Assistant City Manager and was promoted in May 2019 to Deputy City Manager. Prior to arriving in Denton, Canizares worked for the City of Coppell from January 2009 through May 2017 as the Deputy City Manager.

    Canizares worked for the Town of Addison from September 2003 through January 2009. He began with Addison as the Assistant to the City Manager, and in October 2006, he was promoted to Assistant City Manager.

    Prior to arriving in Addison, he worked for the City of Hurst, Texas as Assistant Director – Community Services (Parks, Recreation, Library, and Aquatics). He began his career at the City of Carrollton, Texas, and was able to move around departments to experience their line operations.

    Canizares received a bachelor’s degree from Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas, and a Master's in Public Administration from the University of North Texas. He is involved in professional organizations including the International City/County Management Association, Texas City Management Association, and the Urban Management Assistants of North Texas.

    In addition to his work at the City, Canizares is a member of the Coppell Rotary Club, ​has volunteered on a number of Coppell ISD Committees and was a member of the Coppell YMCA Board of Managers. In his spare time, Canizares enjoys spending time with family, playing and watching all sports, cooking, and traveling. He is married to Jennifer and has two daughters Katelyn and Allison who are both in CISD schools.​​

  • Assistant City Manager: Sara Hensley

    Sara Hensley joined the City of Denton in May 2019 as the Assistant City Manager. Hensley brings with her more than 23 years of public service and leadership experience to the position. Hensley most recently served as the Parks and Recreation Director for the City of Austin and served as Interim Assistant City Manager for two years. She led large-scale teams in multiple program and service areas and operations, served as the executive lead for several citywide cross-departmental efforts, and had frequent interaction with elected officials, community stakeholders, and residents.
     
    Hensley holds a Bachelor of Science and Master of Education from the University of Arkansas and is a graduate of the Executive Development Program at Indiana University. Prior to her recent roles with the City of Austin, Sara was the Director of Parks and Recreation for the City of Phoenix, Arizona; Director of Neighborhood Services, Animal Services and Parks and Recreation for the City of San Jose, California; and the Director of Parks and Recreation for City of Virginia Beach, Virginia.
  • Leadership Team
    Antonio Puente, Jr., Chief Financial Officer, Interim General Manager of Denton Municipal Electric (940) 349-7283
    Antonio.Puente@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Scott McDonald, Director of Development Services (940) 349-8539
    Scott.McDonald@cityofdenton.com, 215 W. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76201

    Jessica Rogers, Director of Economic Development (940) 349-7531
    Jessica.Rogers@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Todd Estes, Director of Engineering, City Engineer (940) 349-8917
    Todd.Estes@cityofdenton.com, 901-A Texas St. Denton, TX 76209

    Kenneth Banks, Director of Utilities (940) 349-7165
    Kenneth.Banks@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Kenneth Hedges, Fire Chief (940) 349-8832
    Kenneth.Hedges@cityofdenton.com, 332 E. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76201

    Holly Fox, Municipal Court Judge (940) 349-8139
    Holly.Fox@cityofdenton.com, 601 E. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76205

    Jennifer Bekker, Director of Libraries (940) 349-8776
    Jennifer.Bekker@cityofdenton.com, 502 Oakland St. Denton, TX 76201

    Gary Packan, Director of Parks & Recreation (940) 349-7469
    Gary.Packan@cityofdenton.com, 601 E. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76205

    Frank Dixon, Police Chief (940) 349-7925
    Frank.Dixon@cityofdenton.com, 601 E. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76205

    Melissa Kraft, Chief Technology Officer (940) 349-7823
    Melissa.Kraft@cityofdenton.com, 601 E. Hickory St Denton, TX 76205

    Ethan Cox, Director of Public Works (940) 349-8044
    Ethan.Cox@cityofdenton.com, 1527 Mayhill Rd. Denton, TX 76208

    Scott Gray, Airport Manager (940) 349-7744
    Scott.Gray@cityofdenton.com, 5000 Airport Rd. Denton, TX 76207

    Aaron Leal, City Attorney (940) 349-8376
    Aaron.Leal@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Tiffany Thomson, Director of Human Resources  (940) 349-7401
    Tiffany.Thomson@cityofdenton.com, 601 E. Hickory St. Denton, TX 76205

    Cassandra Ogden, Director of Procurement and Compliance (940) 349-7195 Cassandra.Ogden@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Sarah Kuechler, Director of Public Affairs/Chief of Staff (940) 349-8356
    Sarah.Kuechler@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Ryan Adams, Deputy Director of Public Affairs/IGR (940) 349-8565
    Ryan.Adams@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Stuart Birdseye, Assistant to the City Manager (940) 349-8009
    Stuart.Birdseye@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201

    Erin Winn, Assistant to the City Manager (940) 349-8115
    Erin.Winn@cityofdenton.com, 215 E. McKinney St. Denton, TX 76201






     


City Secretary’s Office

The city secretary attends and records all City Council meetings, conducts City elections, and administers oaths of office to council members and other City officials. The city secretary is the custodian of City records and coordinates public information requests.

Rosa Rios
City Secretary
(940) 349-8309
Rosa.Rios@cityofdenton.com 

Contact Us

location icon
Visit Us
215 E. McKinney St., Ste 100 Denton, TX 76201
phone icon
Call Us
(940) 349-8307