[Skip to page content]
City of Denton logo stacked
X icon
Home > Residents > Make A Difference > Vote


City Council elections are generally held each May. The City of Denton may also conduct elections on local matters each November. Denton County administers elections for the City, and you may find additional information about elections and voting at www.votedenton.com.

The City of Denton will be holding an election on May 5 for the purpose of electing council members to Places 5 and 6 and a Mayor to Place 7.

Who are the candidates in the City Council Election?
Prospective candidates for Place 5 must live in either Council District 1 or Council District 2.  Prospective candidates for Place 6 must live in either Council District 3 or Council District 4.  Prospective candidates for Mayor may live in any of the four Council Districts.

The first day to file for the May 5 election is Jan. 17, and the last day to file is Feb. 16. Candidates may obtain a packet of election information from the City Secretary’s Office located at 215 E. McKinney St.  A candidate packet can also be downloaded here. Questions can be emailed to Jennifer.Walters@cityofdenton.com or by calling (940) 349-8309.

Qualified voters in this election will be able to vote for all three Council positions as this is an at-large election.

What district am I in?
Look up your voter district here.

For additional elections information, including voter registration, voter ID requirements, and precinct information, please visit the Denton County Elections website at www.votedenton.com.

Where do I vote early for the May 5, 2018 City Council Election?
Early Voting for the May 5 City Council election will be held April 23 – May 1.

Check here later for early voting locations and times.

Where do I vote on Election Day for the May 5, 2018 City Council Election?
Check here later for locations.

Contact Us

location icon
Visit Us
215 E. McKinney Street Denton, TX 76201
phone icon
Call Us
(940) 349-8309