[Skip to page content]
City of Denton logo stacked
X icon
Home > Residents > Make A Difference > Vote


City Council elections are generally held each May. The City of Denton may also conduct elections on local matters each November. Denton County administers elections for the City, and you may find additional information about elections and voting at www.votedenton.com.

Candidates for City Council may file with the City Secretary's Office at 215 E. McKinney Street. The first day for candidates to file for a place on the ballot for the May 6, 2017 City Council election is Wednesday, January 18, 2017. The last day to file is Friday, February 17, 2017 at 5 p.m. There is no filing fee.

Download the Candidate Packet


tax limitation proposition information
(tax freeze)

There will be an item on the ballot of the May 6, 2017 election to consider authorizing a ceiling or limitation on the City of Denton ad valorem tax levy for persons who are disabled and persons sixty-five (65) years of age or older who receive a homestead exemption.

The documents below were presented to the City Council in a January 10 work session and provide information regarding the estimated fiscal impact of enacting the tax limitation:

Contact Us

location icon
Visit Us
215 E. McKinney Street Denton, TX 76201
phone icon
Call Us
(940) 349-8309